The first wave of ticket sales of the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 took place on 12th December 2019. At 12.00 CET the famous queue finally started. But how was this experience for people who wanted to buy these tickets? Did people actually succeed in this process?

Credit cards and multiple devices all around the world were ready for the big sale. Some people even decided to log in very early in order to get a nice (random) spot in the queue. As a matter of fact, people who opened the page after 12.00 CET were supposed to be automatically placed at the end of the queue.

Unfortunately, not everyone got the tickets. The process was a bit complicated and even Family shows tickets soon started to be declared “sold out”. Many Eurofans on Twitter tried their best, but they didn’t succeed. But we must also remember that the Twitter Eurofandom is just a small part of people who want to attend Eurovision live in Rotterdam.

 

My experience

Before this sale, I had never tried to buy Eurovision tickets. This was my first experience with this worldwide tickets sale. I didn’t know what to expect and I wasn’t really sure about a successful outcome.

However, at 6.15 am in the morning I opened my computer and clicked on the links for sales. Then I went to university, I attended a lesson and then I went to the library with my books… and my computer.

Google Chrome was still open, with three tabs: First Semi-Final Family Show queue, First Semi-Final Jury Show queue and Second Semi-Final Jury Show queue.

Nobody had a queue number and this clearly upset a lot of people. After 20 minutes, I was still stuck in the queue for every show. With Hardy’s Tess of the d’Urbevilles in my hand, I stood there waiting for a change.

Suddenly my First Semi-Final Family Show sales page opened and I reached the payment phase. I was so happy but after some minutes I was still stuck there and the payment wasn’t declared to be confirmed.

payment.PNG

I really didn’t know what to do. In the meanwhile, sales for Second Semi-Final Jury Show came to an end due to a “sold out”. Suddenly, the First-Semi Final Jury Show sales page opened and I immediately added a ticket to cart. But it didn’t work, because a notification telling me that they weren’t available appeared immediately in front of my eyes.

I was about to give up but then I did something. It’s a bit hilarious since everybody tells that we should never refresh pages during sales. I actually did and the ticket (2nd tier, seated) I had previously tried to buy suddenly became available.

And that’s it. I’ve got my Eurovision First Semi-Final Jury Show ticket. To everyone who has succeded: Remember to personalize your tickets before 20th December 2019, otherwise they won’t be valid.

I will try to get my Second Semi-Final jury show ticket in January (Second wave of sales). Good luck to everyone! I’m looking forward to the shows in May.