She was one of the fan favourites during 2019 National Final season but unfortunately she didn’t fly to Tel Aviv. Czech Republic was represented by the band Lake Malawi with the song Friend of a Friend, which placed 11th in the Final. However, in the end I actually enjoyed their entry.

The United States of America have Lana Del Rey. Czech Republic has dream pop singer-songwriter Barbora Mochowa. Her song for the selection was True Colours. She received 108 points from the International Jury (the same score awarded to Lake Malawi). However, she didn’t win the televote.

In this song she builds a dreamy atmosphere, enriched by many instruments. Her voice mixes well with the background music. Whenever I listen to it I get transported to another dimension.

I really like the lyrics as well. The song could really be a soundtrack after a breakup. Barbora tells us to see the world’s true colours, that’s what the chorus says:

I’ve got to learn to live my life without you
Even though it’s hard to let you go
Now that I’m slowly taking off the blindfold
I see the world’s true colors, true colors

Even though it’s hard to let a person go, life isn’t just black and white. There’s something more in this world, even a new start. And we must find ourselves and not be afraid of what’s going next. Some difficult periods can make us feel like everything’s static, but we can move forward. That’s basically what this song means to me.

There’s another passage that I really appreciate and that makes me love the lyrics of this song:

Though you’re more than just a memory
I don’t need you now to feel complete
‘Cause I’ve found there’s no heart
That’s just black and white

The protagonist of the song is now ready to go on, because they don’t need that person to survive anymore. This is probably also a reminder to love ourselves, because it’s the key to a lot of problems, even though it’s not a simple process.

This is the official video:

Of course we should focus on performances as well. Is she a good live performer as well? Here’s Barbora performing her song live. I think she would have gotten a good result with the juries.

In addiction, I think that Czech is a really nice language to hear and I wouldn’t mind her composing a song in her native language, because she could easily give it a magic atmosphere.

Czech Republic is probably hosting a real National Final. Maybe with a televised live performance she would be really appreciated and voted. I’m looking forward to watching this National Final, since the previous one wasn’t really a show. We only saw the contestants in a unknown room in Prague with a cheap projector screen, ready to learn the results. Will Barbora compete? I hope so.

In 2016 she released an album, Waiting for the White Raven. It’s definitely worth a listen!